OneDrive: Deleting a User’s data

A Local Administrator can remove OneDrive content for a user if the user has an Office 365 licence assigned to them.

Note: The following steps must be followed prior to marking a user as a leaver or transferring them to another organisation.

1. Click Admin in the navigation bar at the top of the screen and select User Management from the drop-down menu

 

2. Type the user’s name in the search box in the top right of the page and click the magnifying glass to show search results.

Search

3. Click the user’s Display Name to open the User Details Page.

4. Select Delete OneDrive in the Actions box.

Delete Onedrive

5. Click Delete OneDrive to remove the user’s data.

Delete Onedrive 2

A message will be displayed to notify successful deletion

Additional Information

      • If a Local Administrator decides to delete a leaver’s OneDrive for Business content, all content will be sent to the OneDrive for Business preservation hold library. Any content in the preservation hold library that was created or last edited more than 180 days ago will be deleted automatically. Once deleted, content cannot be restored and organisations will not be able to access it.
      • Local Administrators should ask leavers to store any files required by other users on the organisation’s SharePoint site so that the information is still accessible following their departure from the organisation.
      • It is the responsibility of Local Administrators to refer to their internal organisation’s data retention policies.

For more information on how to mark a user as a leaver, please refer to Marking a user as a leaver

For information on how to transfer a user mailbox to another organisation, please refer to  Transferring a mailbox between organisations

Updated on 11/02/2021

Related Articles

Need Support?
Can’t find the answer you’re looking for? Don’t worry we’re here to help!
Contact Support
back to top