1. Home
  2. Dial Plans

Dial Plans

This article provides guidance for Phone System administrators to configure Dial Plans for their organisation. A Dial Plan is a set of rules that translate a phone number that a user dials into a standard E.164 number for call authorisation and routing. Organisations will have the option to use an organisation wide default Dial Plan (provided by Microsoft) or create a custom Dial Plan for users within the organisation.

NOTE :

You will not need to create a Dial Plan if you are only using Calling Plans. For Direct Routing, a maximum of 2 custom Dial Plans can be created, per organisation. Each Dial Plan will have a maximum of 50 Normalisation Rules.

This article will outline:

  • How to add, edit and delete Dial Plans
  • How to add, edit, delete, test, change the order of Normalisation Rules

Adding Dial Plans

1. Once logged into the Phone System PowerApp, select ‘Dial Plans (Direct Routing)’ from the homepage.

 

 

2. You will be directed to a Dial Plans landing page. Here, you will see listed any Dial Plans that have been created. Select the add option from the toolbar to add a new Dial Plan.

 

 

3. You will be taken to a page to add details for the new Dial Plan. These include the name and description. Under Dial Plan details, specify an external dialling prefix if users need to dial one or more additional leading digits (for example, 9) to get an external line. To do this, in the External dialling prefix box, enter an external dialling prefix. The prefix can be up to four characters (#,*, and 0-9). Then, turn on optimised device dialling (toggle). If you specify an external dialling prefix, you must also turn on this setting to apply the prefix so calls can be made outside your organisation.

4. Click ‘Submit’ to process the settings for the Dial Plan.

 

 

 

5. You will be directed to a success screen, informing you that the Dial Plan has been created.

 

 

Editing Dial Plans

1. To edit a Dial Plan, select the Dial Plan from the Dial Plan landing page, and select edit from the toolbar.

 

 

2. You will be able to update the fields for the Dial Plan from creation (name, description, dial plan details).

Important note: You will not be able to edit the Dial Plan name

 

3. Click ‘Submit’ once you have updated the desired fields to process the changes.

4. You will be shown a success screen informing you that the settings have been saved successfully.

Deleting Dial Plans

1. To delete a Dial Plan, select the Dial Plan from the Dial Plan landing page, and select delete from the toolbar.

 

 

2. A prompt will appear, with options to ‘Delete’ to confirm the deletion of the Dial Plan, or the ‘Cancel’. Select ‘Delete’ to confirm deletion.

 

 

Important Note:

If the Dial Plan is assigned to a user, deletion will fail. You must first unassign the Dial Plan from all users for it to be successfully deleted.

3. A success screen will be shown informing you of a successful deletion.
 

Normalisation Rules

Normalisation Rules define how phone numbers expressed in various formats are to be translated. One or more Normalisation Rules must be assigned to the Dial Plan and are matched from top to bottom. For more information on Normalisation Rules, please visit Microsoft guidance here.

Add/Edit Normalisation Rule

1. To add or edit Normalisation Rules for a Dial Plan, select the Dial Plan on the Dial Plan landing page, then select the add/edit Normalisation Rule function from the toolbar.

 

 

2. You will be taken to a page where you can view the Normalisation Rules of the chosen Dial Plan (if any have been added).

 

 

3. If there are none currently added, select add from the toolbar to add a new Normalisation Rule.

 

 

4. You will be taken to a screen to add a Normalisation Rule. Complete the required fields and click ‘Submit’ to add your Normalisation Rule.

 

 

5. A success screen will be shown upon successful addition of the Normalisation Rule. Select ‘Back to Normalisation Rules’, to return to the screen of Normalisation Rules for the selected Dial Plan.

 

 

6. You will be able to view and edit the details of any Normalisation Rule by selecting the rule and then selecting the edit/view option from the toolbar.

Important note: You will be unable to change the name of the Normalisation Rule

7. After updating the settings, select ‘Submit’ to process the changes.

 

 

 

8. A success screen will be shown, informing you that the updates have been saved.

 

 

Deleting Normalisation Rules

1. Select the Dial Plan on the Dial Plan landing page, then select the add/edit Normalisation Rule function from the toolbar.

 

 

2. From the list of Normalisation Rules, select the Normalisation Rule to be deleted from the list, and select the delete function from the toolbar.

 

 

3. A pop-up will appear, prompting you to reconfirm deletion. Select ‘Delete’ to proceed with deletion.

 

 

4. Following successful deletion of the Normalisation Rule, it will have disappeared from the list of Normalisation Rules.

 

 

Test Normalisation Rules

To test how Normalisation Rules will translate phone numbers, follow the steps below.

1. Select the Dial Plan on the Dial Plan landing page, then select the add/edit Normalisation Rule function from the toolbar.

 

 

2. Select the Normalisation Rule of the Dial Plan from the list, that you wish to test, and select the test option from the toolbar.

 

 

3. Fields will appear at the bottom of the screen, for the selected Normalisation Rule to be tested.

 

 

4. To test the Normalisation Rule, input a phone number to be tested in the top field, and click ‘Test’.

5. The output of the test will be provided in the translated phone number field. This will show how the phone number will be translated, as per the selected Normalisation Rule.

Changing the order of Normalisation Rules

As Normalisation Rules are matched from top to bottom, the order in which they appear in a Dial Plan is important. For example, if a Dial Plan has 10 Normalisation rules, the dialled number matching logic will be tried starting with the first Normalisation Rule, if there isn’t a match then the second, and so forth. To change the order of Normalisation Rules within a Dial Plan, follow the steps below.

1. Select the Dial Plan on the Dial Plan landing page, then select the add/edit Normalisation Rule function from the toolbar.

 

 

2. Select change order from the toolbar on the Normalisation Rules screen.

 

 

3. Another column will appear, depicting the existing order of the Normalisation Rules for the selected Dial Plan.

 

 

4. To change the order of the Normalisation Rules, select Normalisation Rules to be adjusted, and then select the left and right arrows as shown below, to remove or add them from the desired order. ‘Clear’ will remove all the Normalisation Rules from the order column.

 

5. Once you are satisfied with the revised order of the Normalisation Rules, select ‘Submit’ to update the changes.

Important note: If your new order is missing any Normalisation Rules, they will be deleted from the Dial Plan.

 

6. A pop up will appear, informing you that if any Normalisation Rules (that were originally included in the Dial Plan), are missing from the revised order, they will be deleted. Select ‘Continue’ to confirm the Normalisation Rule order change.

 

7. Once your changes have been updated, the Normalisation Rule screen will shown the revised order.

Last Reviewed Date 16/05/2022
Updated on 07/07/2022
Need Support?
Can’t find the answer you’re looking for? Don’t worry we’re here to help!
Contact Support
back to top