Editing a shared mailbox

If the details associated with a shared mailbox are incorrect or if you need to add or amend ‘Send As’ or ‘Full Access’ user permissions you can edit the shared mailbox through the User Management screen. Any edits you make will have immediate effect and will update the NHS Directory accordingly. You will require the edit shared mailbox permission level in order to perform this action

To edit a shared mailbox:

selecting user management

Click Admin in the navigation bar at the top of the screen and select User Management from the drop down menu

Use the search box to find the shared mailbox you wish to edit

Refer to the Searching for an Entry section for more information

Click the Display Name of the shared mailbox to open the Edit Shared Mailbox page

Refer to Creating a shared mailbox for more information on editing each part of a shared mailbox

The Shared Mailbox page includes a Status box which indicates if the mailbox is active/inactive, the dates it was created/last updated and the email address of the last administrator to edit it

Editing a shared mailbox Organisational Unit:

To move a shared mailbox to a different department within the current owning organisation (e.g. switch from Leeds Teaching Hospital IT department to Leeds Teaching Hospital maintenance department) you must edit the Directory properties of the shared mailbox. These edits will have immediate effect and will update the shared mailbox entry in the NHS Directory

To move a shared mailbox to a new Organisational Unit:

Click on Edit next to Organisational Unit under Directory Properties

Click on Edit next to Organisation Unit

If appropriate, click the + box to expand the Organisational Unit list and select a new Organisational Unit and click Ok

Expand and select the new Organisational Unit

Note

To change the owning organisation, rather than switching the shared mailbox between different departments within the same organisation, you will need to use Transfer in the Actions box. Refer to Transferring a shared mailbox for more information

Click Update at the bottom of the page

The following message will be displayed:

Success notification will be displayed

If you receive any type of failure notification, refer to Notifications for more information on how to address the issue

Additiontal information

For all information on policies and procedures related to Shared Mailboxes refer to the Shared Mailbox Guide located under Help.

Please note the following-

  • A maximum of 250 members can be added to a Shared Mailbox.
  • A maximum of 100 owners can be added to a Shared Mailbox.

Updated on 29/12/2020

Related Articles

Need Support?
Can’t find the answer you’re looking for? Don’t worry we’re here to help!
Contact Support
back to top