1. Home
  2. Guidance
  3. Outlook
  4. Calendars
  5. Deleting and cancelling appointments and meetings

Deleting and cancelling appointments and meetings

Cancel a meeting that you have organised

  1. Click Calendar in the navigation bar at the top right of the screen

click on calendar

      2.Click on the meeting you would like to cancel and select Cancel at the bottom of the box that appears on screen

select cancel

     3.You will be asked to confirm the cancellation and to send a message to the meeting attendees to inform them about the cancelled meetingselect yes to confirm the cancelation

When cancelling a recurring meeting, you will be asked whether you want to delete one or all of the meetings in the series. If you are cancelling an appointment, a notification message will not appear on screen and the appointment will be deleted

    4.Type your message in the email and click Send at the top of the page

The invite will then no longer appear in your calendar

    5.You can also cancel a meeting by right clicking it, selecting cancel meeting/delete appointment from the drop down list and then following the same process

right click and select cancel meeting

Change your response to a meeting invite

You may need to change your response to a meeting invite, for example if you accepted a meeting invite that you can no longer attend and need to decline it or tentatively accepted and can now definitely attend

  1. Click Calendar in the navigation bar at the top right of the screen

click on calendar

      2.Double click the meeting and you can see your previous responses at the top of the page

      3.Click either Accept, respond as Tentative or Decline depending on your previous response and what you would like to change it to

select the appropriate responce

       4.You can edit your response before sending so that you can let the organiser know why you have changed your response, send a response with no message or not send a response

select if and how you would like the organiser notified

If you have chosen to delete the meeting invite, the meeting will no longer appear in your calendar

Updated on 25/06/2019

Related Articles

Need Support?
Can’t find the answer you’re looking for? Don’t worry we’re here to help!
Contact Support
back to top