National Administration Service (NAS) Bulletin – February 2021
This information is correct at the time of publishing.
Inactive NHSmail user accounts will be closed from March 2021
How does this impact me?
Your NHSmail individual account needs to stay active, providing you a secure way of communicating with your colleagues and access also into the shared mailbox associated with your site.
Accounts become inactive if they have had no activity within a 90-day period and are then earmarked by the service for closure.
What action do I need to take?
Login into your NHSmail account, complete the registration process and accept the Acceptable Use Policy (AUP) before the 1 March 2021. If you don’t do this your account will be closed and then deleted.
Deleted mailboxes can only be restored through the NHSmail Portal up to 30 days from the point of deletion. The NAS FAQs provide further details about how to restore a deleted mailbox.
Note: Shared mailbox owners should inform the relevant NAS team where colleagues are on long-term absence to request the account is disabled. A request should then be made to enable the account upon the user’s return to work. Disabled accounts, if not enabled again, remain on NHSmail for up to 18 months prior to permanent deletion.
The NHSmail Refresh is now complete, all NHSmail accounts have now migrated into Exchange Online (EXO) providing access to O365 applications.
General guidance is available for organisations managed by the National Administration Service on the NHSmail support pages.
Frequently Asked Questions (FAQs)
The NAS FAQs cover a wide range of popular questions on topics such as: how to add additional user accounts, shared mailbox management, and joiners and leavers process.
When contacting the NAS team with an administration request, for example, creating a new user, please ensure you provide the minimum information as listed in the FAQs. This will help us to provide the right information and help us process the request effectively.